taking a break

EXT. CLIFFSIDE — NIGHT

A rail-thin woman is sitting at the edge of a cliff, her feet dangling, a little bored.

The moon’s full. There is hardly any wind, just little gusts desultorily lifting a few

strands of her dark hair from her neck, as she peers at the shadows below. A little

boy walks toward her. She doesn’t look up.

BOY

So –

(steps closer)

Did I hit you?

JO

(shrugs)

Flesh wound.

BOY

Oh.

(slightly abashed, slightly pleased)

Did it hurt though?

JO

It smarts a bit. Like a papercut.

Kid nods, twice, quick jerks. Looks a little unsure. Sits down, cross-legged, near Jo.

Lays darts to the side.

BOY

Are you mad? You didn’t used to get mad.

JO

Tired of the game.

(looks up, stares him in the eye)

Why’d you mess with me?

BOY

(looks down at his darts)

I was just playing.

JO

(grudgingly)

You’ve been practicing.

BOY

(really pleased)

Yes. I hit better now.

JO

(seriously)

I don’t want to play anymore.

BOY

(dubious)

So why are you still here?

JO

(shrugs)

I like the view. Don’t be a pest.

They sit in silence for a minute. The boy fiddles with his darts. Throws one to the side.

BOY

(seriously)

Okay.

(looks thoughtful)

I can miss on purpose.

JO

(smiles)

You really are a sweetheart.

BOY

(worriedly)

What if I nick a lung?

JO

(tousles his hair)

I’ll take my chances.

BOY

For a paper-cut?

JO

So I don’t push you off this cliff.

BOY

Oh.

(grins)

That could be fun.

JO

Brat. Be off with you.

(watches him scramble away)

And wear some pants!

“convo with cupid”
(2011.11.22 11:35)

Leave a Reply

